Ajith P. Perera is back: Thank you all who made the FIRST BLOGGER POLITICIAN top in Kalutara District

Ajith PV

I make this blog post after a long interval. I guess my readers understand why. An election campaign is no joke. It absorbs all the time and effort one can afford. For a first timer it is even more arduous. For two months, the number of hours I slept dropped to four.

It was fun though. Especially when you top the district in preferential votes. It was a true victory for a first timer. Enough had been said already, so I need not repeat. I just express my profound thanks to everyone who helped me in achieving that. That includes the hate bloggers, for reason they better understand, created false accusations thinking that would stop me. Jealousy knows no bounds – so I am not surprised.

Yes, UNP did not win any three of the districts. Again I do not intend elaborating. Adequate to say that a political party is a group. When you are a mere cog in a machine little you can do to change a system. I hope now the people of Kalutara district have decided that I should no more be a mere cog. That is why they gave me this power. No predictions now, but I can assure you I am not going to sit there and wait. CHANGE is what you believe in and CHANGE is what you get. In UNP and in country. Trust me.

I have also proved that I blog not for votes, but to voice my opinion. I have always been against the war, against the corruption and the tyranny of the present government. It is not because I am a UNPer, it was because what Kurakkan does is against any civilized norms. I am happy to see the outcome. The voice we made forced Kurakkan uncle avoiding genocide. If not for that and the right international intervention, at least 100,000 innocent Tamil civilians would have been six feet under the ground by now. In a way, we did a favour for Kurakkan uncle. In not, by now his name would have gone to the annals of history along with Pol Pot. I am determined to continue that debate.

I also thank all my well wishers, most of them I know only through online. I am sorry if I missed responding to individual e-mails.

A long journey has just begun. I invite you to join that difficult journey.

7 thoughts on “Ajith P. Perera is back: Thank you all who made the FIRST BLOGGER POLITICIAN top in Kalutara District

  1. Congrats Ajith, well done and all the best in your future endeavours. May your head always guide you and not your dick, eh?
    Cheers Mate!

  2. Just don’t fool around man, its not for your age. You are not the first blogger turned in to a politician but vice versa.
    And you don’t have an opinion, have you ever proposed just one innovating idea to outcome problems in our country? other than prasing your leader?
    Sure there will be someone to back your post up with a comment, but, they got an agenda, just like yours. You got an agenda behind this, and I see it.

  3. Congratulations. I am glad that a blogger politician has had such success. It is another sign of kottu becoming broader braoder in its readership and participation. I hope you ca make a difference.

  4. next big thing MR govt set to bring to SL in addition to large piles of un-cleared rubbish in colombo is

    “BLACK OUTS”

    MR administration has not spent money on electricity generation.

    MR govt conveniently did not announce this before the WPC elections. Now the election is over MR govt will send the people in to darkness.

    If great Gamini Dissanayake didn’t build all the dams along mhavali river, we would still be in dark.

    Perhaps we should ask MR and the 110 minster’s to do a rain dance asking gods to bring water to solve the power crisis?

  5. May 8, 2009 (LBO) – Sri Lanka has not yet discussed power cuts, a senior government minister said as hydro storage at the country’s state run power utility ran towards a critical level which may trigger compulsory load shedding.

    Hydro storage at the Ceylon Electricity Board (CEB) fell to 330 GigaWatt-hours this week, or enough to generate 330 million units of energy.

    Critical
    ====
    The ‘critical’ water level before power cuts kick in is 300GWh, though the utility has run its storage below the level in the past in a desperate gamble to avoid power cuts.

    “We have not discussed on any possibilities of power cuts,” information minister Anura Yapa told reporters Thursday.

    “Even though water levels have dropped we will use other methods to provide power.”

    Sri Lanka’s power ministry has already called on the public to cut power use from 1830 to 2130 hours in the evening.

    Friday is the start of a Buddhist religious holiday marked by a lantern festival which usually triggers the highest demand for power. Weak economic growth however has slowed demand growth over the past 12 months.

  6. “The voice we made forced Kurakkan uncle avoiding genocide. If not for that and the right international intervention, at least 100,000 innocent Tamil civilians would have been six feet under the ground by now.”

    MR perfectly timed civilian evacuation (it was on 20th, 21st, 22nd, etc.) to impress the Colombo Tamils (to prevent them from hate voting). In Wellawetta (Colombo West) mere 50% have voted.

Leave a comment