‘My Pulse’ (මගේ හද ගැස්ම) by Imthiaz Bakeer Markar

 I was delighted to hear the launch of the book ‘මගේ හද ගැස්ම’ (literally ‘My Heart Beat’ but a more meaningful translation might be ‘My Pulse’) by my former school-mate (few years senior to me at college) and present colleague former Minister of Mass Communication, Imthiaz Bakeer Markar, at the Kularatne Hall at our alma mater yesterday. This is a compilation of his speeches in parliament.

I was invited for this event, but unfortunately could not attend as I was busy with campaigning in the East.

Imthiaz Bakeer Markar, was a Member of Parliament from 1988 to 2004 and represented the Kautara district. He was one politician who can speak Sinhala, Tamil and English equally well.

The event was graced by Opposition leader Ranil Wickremasinghe and speaker W J M Lokubandara.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

